MCITP SQL Server: Business Intelligence

I need to set some personal objectives for the next six months and I’ve been considering working towards the Microsoft MCITP SQL Server: Business Intelligence certification.

This requires that I pass two exams:

  • 70-445: Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Business Intelligence – Implementation and Maintenance
  • 70-446 exam: Designing a Business Intelligence Infrastructure by Using Microsoft SQL Server 2005

Passing the 70-445 gives you the MCTS SQL Server BI certification. Passing the 70-446 gives you the MCITP. The 70-445 is a prerequisite to the 70-446.

According to the latest MCP figures, there aren’t that many MCITP BI developers out there, so this may be a challenge I’ll take on.

From the company perspective, it will be a big plus as it will earn them their third competency – Business Intelligence, and will enhance our Microsoft Gold Partner status. Hitting this milestone should also yield a good bonus at the end of the year! On a personal level, it will allow me to build on my existing BusinessObjects and Performance Point Server skills and pick up more of the Microsoft BI toolset.

I’ve worked with Microsoft SQL Server a great deal and am currently playing around with SQL Server 2008. I’ve also used most of the Microsoft BI tools as well; SSIS, SSAS (for cubes) and SSRS. Having looked through the exam preparation guides, I think I can clear these two exams in the next few months.

I don’t think I’ll take any formal classroom based training for these exams. I’d rather use my training budget on something else, possibly Crystal Reports or BusinessObjects Data Integrator. Hence, I’ll be using the MS book MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft® SQL Server™ 2005 Business Intelligence—Implementation and Maintenance to get me going.

Once this is out of the way, I might start looking at Sharepoint, and portals in general.

Leave a Reply

