SABE210 – Pass!

I recently took the SABE210 Business Objects Enterprise XIR2 Administering Users & Content exam, and passed! It’s a relief to get the first one out of the way.

The exam consists of 40 multiple choice questions, and you are given 80 minutes to complete the exam. I found that this was more than enough time to go through all the questions thoroughly, and leave sufficient time at the end to review any outstanding questions.

The pass grade is 65%. You get given your score immediately at the end of the exam. As long as you get 65% or over, you have a ‘Pass’ and this is what counts towards the BOCP certification.
As I mentioned in a previous post, I did question whether this exam could be done without taking the classroom or e-learning courses. I think you can. However, I would stress that you need to have a very good working knowledge of BOE at Administrator level. Reading the relevant PDF guides (Admin, Deployment), which you can download for free from the BOBJ support website, will also help.

Having said that, the elearning course does help. It presents the information in a logical manner and provides you with tests at the end of each section. These are of a similar format to the final exam. I found that the elearning course fills in gaps in your knowledge. I also learnt a couple of new things which I plan on implementing on client site.

I’m going to start on the SABE310 Administering Servers elearning exam in the next few days. The SABE310 course looks far more substantial and appears to focus heavily on architecture and configuration. I suspect this means learning about the various parameters that can be set for each server and how they all talk to each other. While I am familiar with what the servers do and process flows, I have to admit that I don’t know all the server parameters by heart.

Due to this, I will be taking this as an e-learning course. Worth noting that this elearning course is more expensive than SABE210, and is normally presented as a 3 day classroom based course. The SABE210 course is normally a 2 day classroom course.

Further updates later in the week.

2 Responses to “SABE210 – Pass!”

  1. bhaskar Says:

    Hi,
    I am preparing for BOXI level one certification. The information you provided helps me a lot. can you please let me know what PDF’s that i have to read which are in boxi help manual

  2. weldblog Says:

    bhaskar

    As a starter, spend some time reading the following PDF files:

    xir2_bip_admin_en.pdf
    xir2_bip_deploy_en.pdf
    xir2_bip_install_en.pdf

    These are available from the Business Objects support website and cover the basics of XIR2 in relation to installation and administration.

    Also download the SABE210 syllabus from the Business Objects website in their Education/Training section. This will provide you with an outline of what could be covered in the exam.

    Relying on the PDF files alone will require a lot of preparation and commitment. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

